The 26th Magnetic Recording Conference(TMRC), August 17-19, 2015

The 26th The Magnetic Recording Conference (TMRC 2015) will be held Aug 17-19, 2015 at the campus of the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, MN. TMRC 2015 will focus on “Enhanced future recording technologies for hard disk drives beyond 10 Tbyte capacity”. ¬†Approximately 36 invited papers of the highest quality will be presented orally at the conference and will later be published in the IEEE Transactions on Magnetics. Poster sessions will also be held consecutive to the oral sessions and will feature posters from the invited speakers and a limited number of contributed posters.

Topics of interest include:

  • Perpendicular Magnetic Recording at beyond 1 Tbit/in2 (Readers, Writers, Servo, Tribology, HDI, Signal Processing)
  • Shingled (SMR) and Two-Dimensional Magnetic Recording (TDMR)
  • Heat Assisted Magnetic Recording (HAMR)
  • Bit Patterned Magnetic Recording (BPMR)
  • Alternative Recording Technologies (MAMR, Tape, Spintronics, MRAM, STT-RAM, All-Optical Switching)
  • Fundamentals (Metrology, Tooling, Materials, Recording Physics)

TMRC Program is now available - see Conference Program


Important Information:

Registation Link


We are pleased to have our keynote speaker:

William Cain, Ph.D.

Vice President, Technology

Western Digital Corporation

"Navigating Market and Technology Transitions"


Oral presentations will take place in room 3-210, Keller Hall. 200 Union St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

Poster Session Monday 8/17, 5-7 Pm, Johnson Great Room, McNamara Alumni Center

Poster Session Tuesday 8/18, 5-7 Pm, Memorial Hall, McNamara Alumni Center 200 SE Oak St, Minneapolis, MN 55455





  • Conference chair
    Mark Kief
    Seagate Technology


    Program co-chairs
    Hitoshi Iwasaki


    Mike Seigler
    Seagate Technology


    Dieter Weller

    University of York


    Poster co-chairs
    Michael Alex
    Western Digital

    Kiyoshi Noguchi


    Local co-chairs
    Randall Victora 
    Univ. of Minnesota


    Jianping Wang
    Univ. of Minnesota


    Publication co-chairs
    S.N. Piramanayagam
    Nanyang Techological Univ.

    Jan van Ek
    Western Digital


    Publicity chair
    Kumar Srinivasan
    Western Digital


    Chris Rea

    Seagate Technology