Conference chair
Mark Kief
Seagate Technology
mark.t.kief@seagate.com

 

Program co-chairs
Hitoshi Iwasaki
Toshiba
hitosi.iwasaki@toshiba.co.jp

 

Mike Seigler
Seagate Technology
mike.a.seigler@seagate.com

 

Dieter Weller
dtrweller@gmail.com

 

Poster co-chairs
Michael Alex
Western Digital
michael.alex@wdc.com


Kiyoshi Noguchi
TDK
knoguti@jp.tdk.com

 

Local co-chairs
Randall Victora 
Univ. of Minnesota
victora@umn.edu

 

Jianping Wang
Univ. of Minnesota
jpwang@umn.edu

 

Publication co-chairs
S.N. Piramanayagam
Nanyang Techological Univ.
prem@ntu.edu.sg


Jan van Ek
Western Digital
Jan.vanEk@wdc.com

 

Publicity chair
Kumar Srinivasan
Western Digital
kumar.srinivasan@wdc.com

 

Treasurer

Chris Rea 
Seagate Technology

chris.j.rea@seagate.com

The 26th Magnetic Recording Conference(TMRC), August 17-19, 2015

The 26th The Magnetic Recording Conference (TMRC 2015) will be held Aug 17-19, 2015 at the campus of the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, MN. TMRC 2015 will focus on “Enhanced future recording technologies for hard disk drives beyond 10 Tbyte capacity”.  Approximately 36 invited papers of the highest quality will be presented orally at the conference and will later be published in the IEEE Transactions on Magnetics. Poster sessions will also be held consecutive to the oral sessions and will feature posters from the invited speakers and a limited number of contributed posters.

Topics of interest include:

  • Perpendicular Magnetic Recording at beyond 1 Tbit/in2 (Readers, Writers, Servo, Tribology, HDI, Signal Processing)
  • Shingled (SMR) and Two-Dimensional Magnetic Recording (TDMR)
  • Heat Assisted Magnetic Recording (HAMR)
  • Bit Patterned Magnetic Recording (BPMR)
  • Alternative Recording Technologies (MAMR, Tape, Spintronics, MRAM, STT-RAM, All-Optical Switching)
  • Fundamentals (Metrology, Tooling, Materials, Recording Physics)

 

TMRC 2015 is sponsored by the IEEE Magnetics Society and co-sponsored by the Data Storage Systems Center (CMU); the Center for Magnetic Recording Research (UCSD); the Center for Micromagnetics & Information Technologies (Univ. of Minnesota), the Center for Materials for Information Technology (Univ. of Alabama), the Center for Research on Information Storage Materials (Stanford), and the Computer Mechanics Laboratory (UC Berkeley).

 

Important Information:

Thank you for your interest.  Nominations for invited speakers are now closed.  Posters submissions will be considered until June 26.